A Gate Crasher’s Story

I gate crashed yesterday.

A relative who was from the province was invited to attend a wedding in Manila as a primary sponsor. The oldies needed technical assistance to book transportation back and forth places so I attended although I have no idea who the couple tying the knot  was.

The wedding ceremony happened in a nice parish in the South.

image1

It was my first time to witness a ceremony wherein the couple getting married is entirely unrelated to me. I just proved that I’m such a cry baby as I can’t help but shed tears when a love song was played while the bride was walking down the isle. It’s just heartwarming and overwhelming.

Now, because of too much cellular data use to book trips and all, my phone’s battery got empty. And it has never been my habit to bring my power bank. I’m quite a strong supporter of the idea of not going beyond the power supply you have. I got so disappointed because the venue of the reception was very beautiful. It had that Victorian effect and the colors and lights looked amazing especially at night. I wanted to take a lot of pictures to show to my boyfriend and to have aid in sharing the experience I had. But because my phone was dead, I had no choice but to be mindful of every detail in the venue and remember as much as I can so that I can describe it to him. I want to tell the story in such a way that he will see it as if he was there in that moment.

Just then it hit me, how differently experiences are being shared in our generation.

When you had a good experience or visited a beautiful place, a lot of people (myself not excluded) seemed to be moving on autopilot- they will take out their cameras and capture the moment. With which I have nothing against- I love taking pictures because I want to have a reminder of that experience in a future time. As in Ed Sheeran’s song Photograph, a picture is like time being frozen still.

But whether you agree or not, it is entirely different when you experience a moment without your cameras out. Without “documenting” it. With you just soaked in that moment, on that specific time. It just feels better to be mindful of where you are currently, taking in as much as you could and feeling very moment knowing that they are fleeting and each passing second is precious and will forever be lost in time.

Sadly, our current generation seems to be quite limited to sharing experiences by the pictures we take.

How do you describe a good place you’ve been to? Without the pictures you take, could you detail how nice the ambiance was or how amazing the interiors were? Great if you could but what if you don’t? Are you among those people who have limited the description of their experiences to “It was great,” or “It was a bad experience,” instead of being a person who could vividly describe the experience without the aid of pictures?

Next time you try something nice, could you be with me and try documenting the moment with your minds and hearts instead of your cameras? Try not to take the pictures but take the memory with you. It makes a huge difference.

PS.

And oh. I told my boyfriend the experience I had yesterday. I had a hard time finding the words to describe. Maybe because I got so used to sharing with pictures as aid. Now it’s my self-project to develop that habit of sharing with words and having the skill of enabling another soul picture an experience with the words I use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

